Book I Read: The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson


When I brought this book, I should admit this book and the other volumes definitely have good-looking hardcover! 😀

Mikael Blomkvisit, journalist and a publisher of the magazine Millennium has decided to expose extensive sex trafficking trade in his special edition book issue. Before the book published, the events take a dramatic turn. A couple aka Millennium writers are murdered and the shocking part is of the hand prints on the murderer weapon is of Lisbeth Salander, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, a genius hacker and a Photostat memory power! She is the fierce heart of this book. Mikael never loses hope and tries to find out whether Salander is the prey to the couple murder.

Salander was a woman who hated men who hate women. She is tiny, skinny character, determined, repulsive, unlikeable, mean, calculative, unfriendly and tough. In this, The Girl Who Played with Fire glimpses into Lisbeth Salander past.  Her history is unpredictable. After the first book, I get to know the fascinating back-story of her life that leads her to be unique, defensive and peculiar character.

Larsson is a brilliant storyteller. He has a better handle to the twists and turns in this story. Somehow, I must admit, I was glued to each line to know what happens next. In a way, this second volume is much better than first one. Great titles, an author click! I enjoyed reading despite there was many off and on in first 200 pages. At the end, I got to experience an ultimate storm! I still do not get the idea of mentioning Fermat’s Last Theorem. (Yet to figure it out) Why “Salander” the character and mathematical equation collaboration? Larsson mentioning the theorem makes you surprised because I, not a big fan of math looked astonished by his attempt in the book. In addition, what does Lisbeth’s situation have to do with a Swedish sex trade two of the murder victims were working on? Though I did not get answers, I guess I would get it in the third book because that is what I hear. (Glee)

I give this book 4 star. A fast paced suspense reader and has a genuine twist or two.

Do not go with my opinions alone. You can read it for yourself and might even like it better or worse. I would recommend this book because it has a good story line!

Have you read this book? Did you like the way just as I did? Even I would love to know what you felt when reading it! SO Please do comment in the comment section and I love your likes 🙂

Leave a Reply

